PHIUS Certified Builders

 Contact UsContactUs.html
 Bulletin Boardhttp://www.passivehouse.us/bulletinBoard
 FAQFAQ.html
    ArticlesArticles.html
LinksLinks.html

PHIUS Certified Builders have taken the four-day PHIUS Certified Builders Training and passed a rigorous exam to earn certification. PHIUS Certified Builders:


  1. Understand passive house principles

  2. Can meet unique challenges presented by North American climate and market conditions

  3. Have mastered the craftsmanship and techniques--such as air-sealing-- unique to passive house construction

Alabama


LAN Homes

    Lauren Nicholson

    lauren.a.nicholson@gmail.com

    205-529-4815

    Hoover, AL 35226



Canada


Passive House E-Design

    Natalie Leonard

    natalie@passivedesign.ca

    902.475.1060

    75 Cambren Dr.

    Hubley, Nova Scotia, B3Z1B5



California


Art Haus

    Rich Williams

    Rich@ArtHausHome.com

    858-922-1343

    138 Grandview St.

    Encinitas, CA 92024


Bull Construction

    Peter Bull

    peterbull3@gmail.com

    415.740.1847

    420 Precita Ave.

    San Francisco, CA 94110

   

Home Energy Services

    Steve Mann

    steve@green-mann.com

    805.503.9553

    1609 8th Street

    Berkeley, CA 94710


Smith-Hyder, Inc.

    Chris Hyderring

    chris@smith-hyder.com

    415-350-7200

    Berkeley, CA 94703


Sandium, Inc.

    Nik Morokutti

    nikmorokutti@sandium.com

    1045 N 10th Street,

    San Jose, CA 95112

    408-894-9072


Sierra Sustainable Builders

    Cory Hannaford

    sierrasustainable@gmail.com

    530.318.2084

    1175 Mingwe St.

    South Lake Tahoe, Ca

 

Summit Construction

    Branden Johannesen

    bjohannesen@gmail.com

    831.246.1029

   

    Ron Collosi

    ron@summitltd.com

    650.594.9442

   

    934 Washington Street

    Washington Street

    San Carlos, CA 94070


Wave Crest

    Jeff Adams

    jeffadams50@mac.com

    760-522-4701

    829 2nd St., Suite A

    Encinitas, CA 92024



Colorado


Accent Builders

    Scott Johnson

    sj@accent-bldrs.com

    720-203-0126

    Greenwood Village, CO

    5910 S University Blvd C18

    Greenwood Village, CO 801210


Boulder ZED Design Build

    Brian Hludzinski, LEED AP

    bhlud@yahoo.com

    303.981.7342

    Boulder, CO


Durango Green Homes

    Jacob Bleth

    durangogreenhomes@yahoo.com

    970-769-2570

    454 High Trails Dr.

    Durango, CO 81301


Lamar Valley Craftsman

    Barry Schram

    barry@lamarvalleycraftsman.com

    970-690-8526

    Owner / Project Manager

    2620 Brush Creek Drive

    Fort Collins, CO 80528


No Name Architects

    Dave Argo

    dargo@NoNameArchitects.com

    970.945.6738

    121 Hideaway Lane

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601


Odyssey Builder Group, Inc.

    Michael L. Roberts

    mlr@habitatconstruction.net

    970.879.5371 x101

    2955 Village Drive, Suite #14

    Steamboat Springs, CO 80487


Peak 1 Enterprises

    David Fox

    dave@peak1enterprises.com 

   

    Patricia Tjaden

    pat@patriciatjaden.org

  

    303-478-3010   

    891 14th St., #1206

    Denver, CO 80201


PUSHpassive LLC

   

    Joshua Benjamin

    josh@pushpassive.com


    Eric Harrington

    eric@pushpassive.com

    397 Lightning Ridge Way

    970-391-1528

    Bellvue, CO 80512


Rehn Construction

    Larry Rehn

    Larry@RehnConstruction.com

    1015 Hideaway Lane   

    970-586-3550 

    Estes Park, CO 80517


Sustainable by Design

    Brent Eberhard

    sustainablebydesign1@yahoo.com

    503 East Emma St

    Lafayette, CO 80026


The Greenest Home

    Francis Stanisz

    1950 W. Littleton Blvd, 308

    Littleton, CO 80120


Zola Windows

    Florian Speier

    florian@zolawindows.com

    303.578.0001

    1104 Garfield Ave

    Louisville, CO 80027



Connecticut


BPC Green Builders

    Jeff Berger-Girvalo

    jgirvalo@bpcgreenbuilders.com

    203-563-9909

    Wilton, CT 06897


GreenParadigm LLC

    Dave Solaz

    davesolaz@gmail.com

    203-545-7968

    1298 Georges Hill Rd.

    Southbury, CT 06488


Horizon Homes, LLC

    Michael Blum

    mj.blum.1@gmail.com

    203.300.1315

    Ridgefield, CT 06877


Zapf Green Builders

    Carlos Zapf   

    crzapf@gmail.com

    203-842-0032

    Wilton, CT 06897



Delaware


The Handyman Service

    Chris Vanderslice

    Chris@delawarehandyman.com

    302-563-6599

    2510 North Harrison Street

    Wilmintong, DE 19802

   


Idaho


Enerform

    Scott Yribar

    scott@enerform.com

    208-392-1931


    Steve O'Connor

    steve@enerform.com

   

    208-861-9314

    317 W. Boise Ave.

    Boise, ID 83706


Pura Vida Homes

    Gavin Tenold

    gavin@puravidahomesspokane.com 

    509-315-5520

    1312 N. Monroe, Suite 131 

    Spokane, WA


Tim Swanson Construction LLC

    Nic Swanson

    (208) 585-7938.

    P.O. Box 712

    McCall, ID 83638.



Illinois


Biltmore Insulated Concrete

    Eric Barton

    Ericbarton@comcast.net

    847-681-1973

    Highland Park, IL  60035


Cation Construction

    David Cation

    dcat1ion@gmail.com

    3304 S.1St

    217-585-1014

    Springfield, IL 62703


Domus Plus

    Paul Knight

    domusplus@comcast.net

    Oak Park, IL 60302


Evolutionary Home Builders


    Brandon Weiss

    brandon@evolutionaryhb.com

    (630) 485-1818


    Jamie Carr

    jamie@evolutionaryhb.com

    (484) 431-6599


    200 S. 3rd Street

    Geneva, IL 60134


Mark Kolb

    markolb@gmail.com

    Champaign, IL 61820


Zen Plus Architecture

    Mark Miller/PHAUS

    mark.miller@phaus.org

    Chicago, IL


Weiss Building & Development

    Brandon Weiss

    brandon@weissbd.com

    630-485-1818

    Elgin, IL 60177


Wiii Design-Build

    Michael Kaminski

    mkaminski@wiiidesignbuild.com

    708-606-3944

    Homewood, IL 60430



Indiana


Doub Construction

    Nicholas Doub

    doubconstruction@live.com

    812-583-0236

    Mitchell, IN 47446


UBuildIt, Indy

    Allen Brown

    AllenB.IN@UbuildIt.com

    317-251-9024 (O)

    317-796-5973 (M)



Kentucky


Bowling Green Habitat For Humanity

    Charlie Gries

    crgries@aol.com

    270-792-8488

    Alvaton KY 42122


Bowling Green Habitat For Humanity

    Ryan Smith

    rsmith@hfhbgwc.org

    270-991-0030

    Bowling Green, KY


Maryland


Abrams Design Build

    Alan Abrams

    alan@abramsdesignbuild.com

    Takoma Park, MD 20912



Massachussetts


Builder's Partnership

    Bob Prendergast

    builderspartnership@gmail.com

    Canton, Mass. 02021

    617-590-4056

    NOTE: Builder’s Partnership serves

    the Bristol, N.H. area  

    

Building Shelter Inc.

    Ben Kelley

    info@buildingshelter.com

    Oak Bluffs, MA 02557

    508-693-7734


Commodore Builders

    Jared Crowley

    617-614-3500 X325

    80 Bridge St.

    Newton, MA, 02458


JSR Adaptive Energy Solutions

    John S. Rodenhizer

    jsr@jsradaptivenergy.com     

    S. Hamilton, MA 01982

    and

    32 Bowman Lane

    West Falmouth, MA 02540

    978-468-0297 (o)

    508-734-0177 (c)


Swanson Construction Co., Inc.

    Christopher Manlove

    chris@swansonconstruction.com

    5 Maynard Street

    Attleboro, MA 02703

    508-222-1575 (o)



Michigan


Andra T. Robinson

    OnjTR@drapergroupusa.com

    Draper Group U.S.A

    678 Front Street NW, Suite 135

    Grand Rapids, MI

    616.301.1350



Minnesota



Miles Builders Inc.

    James Miles

    miles@milescm.com

    612.328.1981

    1121 Jackson Street NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55413


James Steel Construction

    Andrew Naughton

    anaughton@jsteeleconstruction.com

    651-488-6755

    1410 Sylvan Street

    St. Paul, MN 55117



Missouri


Newman Construction

    Jeff Newman

    Jeff@newman-construction.com

    636-239-0112

    553 Mill Creek Lane
    Washington, MO  63090


Welek Construction

    John Welek

    welek5@aol.com

    573.864.3108   

    3212 Country Woods Rd.

    Columbia, MO 65203

      


Montana


Dwellzero, LLC

    Alexander Sievers

    info@dwellzero.com

    RESNET Home Energy Rater

    Energy Star Homes Verifier

    2620 Briggs

    Missoula, MT 59803


Leland Builders

    Mark Leland                                         

    836 12th Ave

    Helena, MT 59601

    406-431-2732







Nevada


Sierra Sustainable Builders

     Hannaford

    sierrasustainable@gmail.com

    530.318.2084

    1175 Mingwe St.

    South Lake Tahoe, Ca



New Hampshire


Builder's Partnership

    Bob Prendergast

    builderspartnership@gmail.com

    Canton, Mass. 02021

    617-590-4056

    NOTE: Builder’s Partnership serves

    the Bristol, N.H. area  


Mulberry Tree Builders

    Paul Liscord

    mulberrytreebuilders@gmail.com

    mobile: 603-801-6938

    24 Old Amherst Rd.

    Mont Vernon, NH 03057


North Branch Construction, Inc.

    Rob Dapice

    rdapice@northbranch.net

    Office: 603-224-3233 ext. 223

    Cell: 603-345-0044

    76 Old Turnpike Road

    Concord, NH



New Jersey


Clark Construction

    Jason Clark

    jallenclark@gmail.com

    845.721.4321

    P.O. Box 522

    New Paltz, NY 12561


Horizon Homes LLC

    Michael Blum

    mj.blum.1@gmail.com

    203.300.1315

    Parsippanny, NJ 07054



New Mexico


Architectonics

     Patrick E. Heise, AIA

     eprheise@gmail.com

     505-340-5514

     7 Bowersville Rd.

     Algodones, NM 87001



New York


Clark Construction

    Jason Clark

    845-721-4321
    P.O. Box 522
    New Paltz, NY 12561


Higher Value Insulation

    Owen O'Connor

    service@highervalueinsulation.com

    845-750-1728

    PO Box 4252

    Kingston NY 12402


Ironwood Builders

    Benj Sterrett   

    Benj@ironwoodithaca.com

    607-229-6442

    Ithaca, NY 14851-7148


John Eric Johanson

   johanson.john@gmail.com           

    518-265-8555

    Troy, NY 12180


KLM Development LLC
    Kye Ford

    Kyeford@yahoo.com

    518-5708171

    69 Fort Brown Dr. # 2
    Plattsburgh, NY 12903


Owen O’Connor

    oroconnor@gmail.com

    845-750-1728

    PO Box 4252

    Kingston, NY 12402


Nugent CM

    Edward Nugent

    edward@nugentcm.com

    914.830.0465

    46 Mine Dock Road

    Fort Montgomery, NY 10922


Peter K Construction

    Peter Koszewicz

    Peter@peterk.com

    7 West Cross St, Suite 7 W

    Hawthorne NY 10532

    914-497-5900      

    Also serves Connecticut

 

Oleg Slivinsky

    oslivinsky@gmail.com

    2522 East 11 St

    Brooklyn, NY 11235


Wee Design/Build

    Sean Ritchey

    845-594-8838

    PO Box 213

    Bearsville NY 12409



North Carolina


Anchorage Building Corp.

    Karan Gupta

    krngpta@gmail.com

    919-491-7719


E.H. Liles Company

    Darryl J. Silwedel

    paxworld2000@hotmail.com

    828.231.7610

    PO Box 90

    Fairview,  NC  28730


Newphire Building Corp.

    Kevin Murphy

    kevin@newphirebuilding.com

    (919) 928-2664

    628 Carl Dr.

    Chapel Hill, NC 27516


Greg Solaz

    gregsolaz@gmail.com

    203-819-3774

    10413 Verdugo Drive

    Charlotte, NC 28277



Ohio


Sareth Builders, LLC

    Stephan E. Kamrass

    Steve@SarethBuilders.com

    30628 Detroit Road, #256   

    Westlake, Ohio 44145

    216.855.8635


Timberlake Properties

    James Beck

    jamesebeck@roadrunner.com

    2490 Manistique Lakes Dr.

    Lebanon, OH 45036



Oregon


Birdsmouth Construction

    Joshua Salinger

    josh@birdsmouthconstruction.com

    503-753-9692

    Portland, OR 97215


Gant Custom Homes

    Cory Gant

    gantcustomhomes@gmail.com

    121 Wedgewood Dr

    541-221-5829  

    Eugene, OR   97404


Hammer & Hand

    Sam Hagerman

    sam@hammerandhand.com

    503-232-2447

    Portland, OR


Neil Kelly Company

    Tony Butchart

    tony.butchart@gmail.com

    503-407-9763

    804 North Alberta St.

    Portland, OR 97217


Six Degrees Construction

    Dave Veldhuizen

    dave@sixdegreesconstruction.com

    541.579.4194

    980 Van Buren St

    Eugene, OR 97402



Pennsylvania


BluPath Design Inc.

    Laura Blau

    lblau@blupath.us   

    267-519-3564

    Philadelphia, PA 19123


EcoCraft Homes

    Eliot Fabri

    efabrijr@ecocraft-homes.com

    800-274-6198

    Bridgeville PA, 15017


Enviroquest

    John Staz

    evq@comcast.net

    717.443.2218

    1738 North 3rd Street

    Harrisburg, PA 17102

   

Hanson General Contracting, Inc.

    Christopher M. Hanson

    Philadelphia, PA, 15017

    215-483-8338 (O)

    215-651-3076 (C)


Hugh Lofting Timber Framing, Inc.

    Hugh J. Lofting

    610-444-5382

    Kennett Square, PA 19348  


Lord Contractors, Inc.

    Kenneth Lord

    info@lordcontractors.com

    610-489-0966

    Eagleville, PA 19408


Mistick Construction

    Leo Makosky

    lmakosky@mistickconstruction.com

    412-322-1121   

    Pittsburgh, PA 19408


Sota Construction Services, Inc.
    Thomas Reynolds

    treynolds@sotaconstruction.com

    412-766-4630

    Pittsburgh, PA 15202


This Leaky House

    Andrew McDowell

    drewmcd@verizon.net

    610.241.7792

    1102 Winchester Trail

    Downingtown, PA 19335



Rhode Island


Stephen C. DeMetrick Fine Woodworking

    Stephen C. DeMetrick

    sdemetrick@gmail.com

    401.789.4712

    Wakefield, RI  02879



South Dakota


Matt Trenhaile

    118 Sunset Street

    Yankton SD 57078

    Email: trenhaile.cw@gmail.com

    Phone: 605-760-9377


South Dakota Housing Development Authority

    Steve Maruska

    Stevem@sdhda.org

    605-369-4431


    Dog Stemper

    dougs@sdhda.org

    605-369-4430


    1412 Wood Street

    Springfield, SD 57062



Texas


Tend Building

    Shannon Bryant

    shannon@thetendinstitute.com

    Shelly Pottorf

    spottorf@architend.com

    832-372-5497

    Houston, TX 



Vermont


Montpelier Construction

    Chris Miksic

    chris@montpelierconstruction.com

    802-479-1868

    1526 Lower Road
    Plainfield, VT 05667


Thetford Hill Design

    Michael Schunk

    thetfordhilldesign@gmail.com

    978.973.1597

    P.O. Box 181

    Thetford, VT 05074



Virginia


Maya Wood and Company
    Maya Wood

    mayawoodworks@gmail.com
    3133 Burnley Station Road

    434.960.2836
    Barboursville, VA 22923

    978.973.1597


Structures Design/Build, LLC

    Adam Cohen

    adam.cohenaj@gmail.com

    540.774.4800

    Roanoke, VA 24018



Washington


Batt + Lear

    Ryan Lurie

    ryan@battandear.com

    206-359-5514

    Seattle,WA


    Aaron Reed

    aaron@battandlear.com
    (206) 898-5770

    Seattle,WA


Cascade Built


    Sloan Ritchie

    sloan@cascadebuilt.com

    206-354-3455

    4111 E Madison ST #104

    Seattle WA 98112

 

    Al Fernandez

    al@cascadebuilt.com

    206-909-6196

    4111 E Madison ST #104

    Seattle WA 98112


Cronin Construction

    Matthew Cronin

    croninconstruction@live.com

    509-389-6273

    S. 5909 Martin

    Spokane, WA 99223


Dyna Contracting Inc.

    Andy Mroczek

    andy@dynacontracting.com   

    206.297.6369 o

    206.786.1356 m

    1537 NW Ballard Way

    Seattle WA 98107


Hammer & Hand

    Dan Whitmore

    dwhitmore@hammerandhand.com

    206-397-0558

    Seattle, WA


North Sound Energy and Remodel

    Kurt Waldenberg

    kurt@nsenergyremodel.com

    360-650-1630

    112 Ohio Street

    Bellingham, WA 98225


Parsons Custom Builders

    Dave Parson

    dave@parsonscustombuilders.com

    7703 E. Trent Ave

    Spokane, WA 99212


Pura Vida Homes

    Gavin Tenold

    gavin@puravidahomesspokane.com 

    509-315-5520

    1312 N. Monroe, Suite 131 

    Spokane, WA


Smallwood Design & Construction Inc.

    Shad Smallwood

    206-842-5443 (office)

    206-851-8108 (cell)

    8356 NE Day Road East

    Bainbridge Island, WA 98110


Sunshine Construction, LLC

    Jon Alexander

    206-782-4619

    Seattle, WA  98117



Washington, D.C.

 

Habitat for Humanity of Washington, D.C.

    Daniel Hines,
    Senior Construction Supervisor

    dan.hines@dchabitat.org

    2115 Ward Ct. NW, Suite 100

    Washington, D. C. 20037

    (202) 882-4600

    (202)  417-4349


Wisconsin


Great Lakes Carpentry, Inc.

Randy Nilsson

info@greatlakescarpentry.com

P.O. Box 698

Mercer, WI 54547

Office: (715) 476-0122

Cell phone: (715) 776-0122


Lakeside Advanced Builders

    Timothy Johnson

    timothy369@centurytel.net

    715-816-4062

    South Range, WI 54874


Recent PHIUS Certified Builder Training Class, Golden, Colo.